Skip to main content

(Southwestern Ontario) May 22, 2024 – SWIFT is pleased to announce the successful conclusion of its Annual General Meeting (AGM) held on May 10th, 2024, in which Gary McNamara, Essex County Councillor, was re-appointed as the SWIFT Board Chair for a 1-year term.

“Gary’s unwavering commitment and strategic leadership have been instrumental in driving SWIFT’s mission to expand high-speed internet access across Southwestern Ontario and we’re fortunate to have his continued leadership as Chair of the SWIFT Board of Directors,” said Barry Field, Executive Director, SWIFT. “Under Gary’s guidance and with the ongoing commitment of our board members, SWIFT remains focused on its commitment to increase access to high-speed internet in underserved communities in Southwestern Ontario.”

Furthermore, SWIFT is pleased to confirm that there have been no changes to its current board membership. The existing board members will continue their roles in guiding SWIFT’s mission and strategic initiatives to advance broadband infrastructure across Southwestern Ontario.

“As Board Chair of SWIFT, I’m honoured to continue leading this dedicated team of individuals who are committed to bridging the digital divide in Southwestern Ontario,” said Gary McNamara, SWIFT Board Chair. “The continuity within our board ensures a seamless transition and enables us to maintain our focus on expanding high-speed internet access to underserved communities. I’m proud of the progress we have made thus far and look forward to continuing our collaborative efforts to bring greater connectivity to residents throughout our region.”

The current SWIFT Board of Directors includes:

Gary McNamara (Essex County)– Chair
David Mayberry (Oxford County)– Vice Chair
Robert Foster (Niagara Region) – Treasurer
Todd Kasenberg (Perth County) – Secretary

  • Andy Lennox (Wellington County)
  • Basil Clarke (Simcoe County)
  • Brian Milne (Grey County)
  • Cathy Burghardt-Jesson (Middlesex County)
  • Chris Gerrits (Dufferin County)
  • David Miller (Brant County)
  • Dominique Giguère (Elgin County)
  • Jamie McGrail (Chatham-Kent)
  • Jim Ginn (Huron County)
  • Kevin Marriott (Lambton County)
  • Luke Charbonneau (Bruce County)
  • Nick de Boer (Town of Caledon)
  • Sue Foxton (Region of Waterloo)
  • Tom Masschaele (Norfolk County)

For more information about SWIFT and our initiatives, please visit


Southwestern Integrated Fibre Technology (SWIFT) is a non-profit regional broadband project initiated by the Western Ontario Wardens’ Caucus to subsidize the construction of high-speed broadband networks across Southwestern Ontario, Caledon and the Niagara Region.

The project was approved for funding up to $127.4 million under the New Building Canada Fund – Small Communities Fund (NBCF-SCF), a joint federal and provincial infrastructure funding program, and leverages additional funding from municipal partners and private sector investors to bring improve access to broadband services across the region.

 Media Contact:

Melissa O’Brien
[email protected]
Manager, Communications and Stakeholder Relations
Southwestern Integrated Fibre Technology