Skip to main content

(Southwestern Ontario) May 3, 2022 – SWIFT is pleased to announce that following its 2022 Annual General Meeting, the Board of Directors re-appointed Gary McNamara, Warden of Essex County, as the SWIFT Board Chair for another 1-year term, effective April 29, 2022.

SWIFT also announced the departure of the Board’s non-governmental directors MaryLynn West-Moynes, Brent Royce, Denise Stonefish, John Innes and Peter Crockett.

In addition, Mitch Twolan has stepped down from his role on the SWIFT Board of Directors after serving since 2016. The Board wishes Mr. Twolan all the best in his future endeavours and would like to welcome Luke Charbonneau, Member of Bruce County Council and Mayor of Saugeen Shores, who has been appointed to fill the vacancy effective immediately.

“On behalf of the board, I would like to thank our departing directors for their dedicated service. Their collective leadership and expertise over the years has helped shape the direction of SWIFT and the success of the program has been a true testament to their tireless contributions and has been instrumental in helping the initiative achieve its goals and objectives of a more connected Southwestern Ontario,” said Gary McNamara, SWIFT Board Chair. “It has been a tremendous honour and privilege to have served with them on the SWIFT Board of Directors.”

With these changes, SWIFT’s board will comprise of 18 elected governmental directors:

Gary McNamara (Warden, Essex County) – Chair
David Mayberry (Councillor, Oxford County) – Vice Chair (newly appointed)
Robert Foster (Councillor, Niagara Region) – Treasurer (newly appointed)
Selwyn (Buck) Hicks (Warden, Grey County) – Secretary (newly appointed)

• Allan Thompson (Mayor, Town of Caledon)
• Chris Gerrits (Councillor, Dufferin County)
• David Miller (Councillor, Brant County)
• George Bridge (Councillor, Wellington County)
• George Cornell (Warden, Simcoe County)
• Jamie McGrail (Councillor, Chatham-Kent)
• Joanne Vanderheyden (Councillor, Middlesex County)
• Kevin Marriott (Warden, Lambton County)
• Luke Charbonneau (Councillor, Bruce County)
• Roger Watt (Councillor, Huron County)
• Sue Foxton (Councillor, Region of Waterloo)
• Todd Kasenberg (Councillor, Perth County)
• Tom Marks (Warden, Elgin County)
• Tom Masschaele (Councillor, Norfolk County)

Southwestern Integrated Fibre Technology (SWIFT) is a non-profit regional broadband project initiated by the Western Ontario Wardens’ Caucus to subsidize the construction of high-speed broadband networks across Southwestern Ontario, Caledon and the Niagara Region.

The project was approved for funding up to $127.4 million under the New Building Canada Fund – Small Communities Fund (NBCF-SCF), a joint federal and provincial infrastructure funding program, and leverages additional funding from municipal partners and private sector investors to bring improve access to broadband services across the region.

Media Contact:
Melissa O’Brien
[email protected]
Manager, Communications and Stakeholder Relations
Southwestern Integrated Fibre Technology